Username:
Password:
Save Password

Join TIJ Forums
Lost Password?
Subscribe to TIJ's Newsletter

All Forums > Technical Forums > Structural Forum >

Loud Noises from roof in Cold Weather

Previous Topic: Fire Separation - Topic - Next Topic: Structural issue? New TopicReply to TopicShare Topic
Posted By  
View Profile
Kamloops, BC
Currently offline offline

Thread Start First Page
[#1] Posted: 01/18/2012 - 11:33:27 PM
I recently became a licensed home inspector, prior to that I was a carpenter and eventually a contractor and have seen many things when it comes to building structures. I can also admit when I am stumped.

In my house last night, Wood framed, built in 1972 I heard some loud cracking or thumping noises, very loud in fact I was a bit concerned something was going to give. This is the first time this has happened and I figure it has something to do with the temperature dropping to about -25 with a strong wind.

Its a vaulted ceiling so I have no real way of checking what it was without cutting into the drywall or going through the roof. Just wondering is anyone has any theories or has heard of anything like this. The best I can figure it has something to do with moisture in the woof getting so cold it pops (have seen trees explode when it gets too cold) or the sheathing or fasteners popping???

BC Home Inspector - Red Seal Carpenter - Gold Seal Project Manager
www.kamloopshomeinspections.ca
View Profile
Kenmore, WA

[#2] Posted: 01/19/2012 - 12:39:56 AM
What kind of roof framing have you got?

ONE TEAM - ONE FIGHT!!!

Mike

View Profile
DeWitt, Mi

[#3] Posted: 01/19/2012 - 05:21:14 AM
is it plywood or osb decking? do you have ceiling fans? what kind of heat do you use?
I'd go with fastener pops at first blush.

Was this late evening on the 24th of December?

Les
View Profile
Chicago, IL

[#4] Posted: 01/19/2012 - 06:30:16 AM

Shoot.....Les beat me to the Santa Claus possibility.