I wonder how many of us would encourage our children to go into this profession. I don't have this issue because both of my boys have no desire to be in the home inspection field and are involved in other careers.

I worked as a home inspector with my dad for a few years before I became an architect and then he retired. I enjoyed working with him but I switched my main job because I was not fulfilled working full time as an inspector. I now do inspections when I want and actually enjoy doing them.

Do you like being home inspectors?

What would you be if you could switch jobs?

So far I'm enjoying this business. I think it's better as a second (or third) career. I enjoy the mix of inspections and report writing. I couldn't handle a typical office job.

I was a farmer before this and I'd go back to farming if I had to switch jobs. That's really what I was born to do. Life changed though, and being a home inspector suits my family and my life really well (so far).

First son has no interest. Graduated business school and has a job. He loves cold call sales and would hate working with houses.

Second son is going into the medical field. He might like this after he tires of medicine. He likes tinkering. He could do it.

Was in IT for 25 years prior to this. Suit and tie office job. Miss working indoors during lousy weather.

I could see myself going back to being an ambulance driver. Was a volunteer EMT for about a decade. Patients are getting fatter. Not sure I wanna lift fatties into the truck all day. Miss the ability to make a real difference in peoples lives.

I've no sons. Daughter would laugh at becoming an HI.

If I could choose another profession, I'd be the site electrical engineer at a small heavy-industry industrial facility. I've always been an ace at sleuthing analog electrical/electronic circuitry.

If I had ears that worked, I'd go back to school and become a Licensed Clinical Social Worker.