Workers compensation

I got a call to do an inspection on a new construction home today. My client stated the builder Beazer Homes requires all subcontractors to carry workers compensation. I do not currently carry it because I don’t have any employees. Do any of you carry workers compensation? Ended up giving the client a competitors name that I knew had several inspectors and thought might carry workers compensation.The competitor did have workers comp and I ended up losing the inspection to them. Any need for a single business owner like me to carry workers comp other than losing out on the occasional inspection?

Thanks

Kiel

Not me. Plus I usually end up getting the builder to waive that part of their requirements. I won't say that I've never lost one because of it but hey, I've also lost new construction inspections because I'm not a structural engineer.

I think workmans comp is fairly expensive.

I talked to the builder and he said I couldn’t do the inspection if I didn't have workers comp. I tried to explain that I was a one man show and that’s why I didn’t have it, but he wasn’t having it. Centex requires the same but like you said they end up waiving that part of the requirement or don’t even ask anymore.

Worker's comp is different in different states. In most places you are not obliged to have WC on yourself if you're a sole proprietor, or maybe even a corporate officer or LLC member, but I would check with the state authority that deals with this. If you need comp, in some places (like here in WA!) it's affordable and friendly, and in other places there are minimum premiums and other expensive problems. My guess is that you don't have to have it, but that an outfit like Beazer is going to require it anyway to protect themselves. They'll just use someone who can comply with their policy.