Advice for Repairs on Joists

Gordon

Hello everyone. A friend of mine has this great St. Patrick's Day party every year, and invites alot of people-kind of an open house invite. The problem is, he and his wife moved into a house last year that needs work. I'm going to be helping him get this work done before St. Patty's (he has fears of people falling through the floor), because he has 5 joists that have been notched at least half way up, to accommodate the gas fuel run, which I'll be re-routing for him next weekend. Question: what is the best way to repair these joists, without having to replace them all? I imagine some type of metal brace could do the trick, but I'm uncertain of what type to get. I appreciate the future input.

Download Attachment: icon_photo.gif Crilly 3.jpg

980.02 KB

While I'm not an engineer, and will disavow any responsibilty if you all fall through the floor and die, it give it a shot:

Option 1: Sister a same size joist the entire length of the notch joist (this may not be practical)

Option 2: Add a "flitch plate". A 1/4" steel plate roughly the same width as the affected joists, with pre-drilled staggered holes. Run it about 6' out from the affected area. Installed it like a sandwich between the affected joist, and a 6' 2x of the same dimension. Through bolt through all three. Do this to all the notched joists.

Originally posted by Gordon

. . . Question: what is the best way to repair these joists, without having to replace them all? I imagine some type of metal brace could do the trick, but I'm uncertain of what type to get. I appreciate the future input.

Run a girder under the notched joists. Support it with posts and nice broad footings.

- Jim Katen, Oregon