How do you do it?

I have been off to a great start this year, at least, for me. I had seven inspections in January which is six more than last year and eleven in February which is ten more than last year. Here is the problem. In the last three days I did two a day and it almost killed me. The first two days were four relatively new homes and all were in respectable condition. The report writing went pretty smooth but this was still two nine to ten hour days.

Yesterday I had two homes both built in the mid sixties. I started at 8 am and after 8 pm last night I turned off the computer. This morning I was on duty at the fire hall so I came in and finished installing pictures and e-mailed out the reports.

I guess the thing is I know inspectors who do two and three a day every day and I know they aren't at it that long.

I'm still a rookie with just under two years at this and I know I'm quicker now than last year but I just can't see how people do it any quicker and still catch all there is to catch. Am I the alone out there with these times its taking.

I sometimes wonder am I too anal about all that i put in the report.

Oh well, thanks for letting me ramble.

Buster

Originally posted by rlskfoster

I sometimes wonder am I too anal about all that i put in the report.

It's far more likely the other guys aren't anal enough. Practically all of us are looking for ways to streamline the process without cutting the quality, but it's hard to do. I'm sure more time and experience will help and technology might too, but personally I can't imagine ever doing more than two in one day unless there were special circumstances involved.

Don't worry about what they do, do the best you can.

Brian G.

I think I need to streamline my typing skills!

I always thought that one a dya would be great and I still feel that way(here comes the but!) ,but, It's hard to turn the work down when it comes. I do know that I don't have enough hours in the day to do three inspections.

Buster