receptacle tester

John Dirks Jr

Now that I think about it, I can't actually recall the last time I bought any of them, but I'm sure that I've been using the same yellow GB tester for the last 3 or 4 years...at least. I carry a couple of spares but, amazingly, I haven't lost one in a long time. Never had a problem with prongs "sinking into the case" on any brand tester over the years, including the decades before HI. So, John, I hate to ask, but could it it be poor "marksmanship" inserting your tool? Have you had your eyes checked recently? ;)

Now that I think about it, I can't actually recall the last time I bought any of them, but I'm sure that I've been using the same yellow GB tester for the last 3 or 4 years...at least. I carry a couple of spares but, amazingly, I haven't lost one in a long time. Never had a problem with prongs "sinking into the case" on any brand tester over the years, including the decades before HI. So, John, I hate to ask, but could it it be poor "marksmanship" inserting your tool? Have you had your eyes checked recently? ;)

I might be a little hyper.

John,

Get a 1' extension cable and leave your tester plugged into that. That will reduce the wear and tear.

Anatol

Hmmm, that probably help for getting into the recessed floor receptacles too.

The one I had with a loose prong totally crapped on me today. Luckily on the last receptacle of the inspection.

I found the ones with the round ground post fit tighter into the receps. I like the ones with the d shaped ground prong as they fit easier and go along with my hyper active frenzies better.

It all seems to be based on need. I'm a bit sanguine so I loose a few of those things now and then. Most of the housing I inspect is newer so bootlegs are less of a concern. When the older stock moves, like recently, its still a no brainer. Two prong gets replaced with three but the ground lug has nothing attached. KISS