cooking hours log

Here's an off-topic topic.

For my birthday we dined at a great litle restaurant that seats only 14 folks.

The owner is the cook and the waiter. All vegitarian, reservations are encouraged.

One of my friends asked her where she learned to cook. Answer, "I read a lot", and she said she has over 10,000 hours actual cooking experience. She said that is a threshold beyond which one can call oneself a cook.

Now I was impressed. (BTW this cook completed a doctoral degree in physics 2 yrs ago) I am a cook, but have no idea how much time I have logged.

How many hours cooking time have the brethren here logged?

If you spend 1/2 hr cooking a meal 2 times a day for a year, that is roughly 700 hours. So cooking your own meals every day for 14 years would be about 10k hours. You would have been allowed to go out to eat 440 times during the 14 years or 3 times a month.

Working in a restaurant is about the only way to get any real number of hours of cooking logged. 40 hr work week (2080 hrs a year) for 5 years and you have the magic 10,000.

Working at Subway for a couple of decades would not make you a cook, it would make you an old sandwich maker.

Have a buddy who temporaily moved to the UK for 3 years. While there he completed the Cordon Blu chef school. I like it when he invites the family over for a bite. Mmmm Really tasty stuff.

Here's what I know about cooking professionally.

Anyone can cook a great meal; if one get's lucky, they can cook an exquisite meal.

Cooking an exquisite meal 300 times a night (or whatever the room holds), where everything is the same every time, is brutally complicated and hard.