Purchasing a Home Inspection Bus. Need help/advice

I just found this website. It looks great. I have read quite a few of the forums and found them interesting and informative.

I have been looking into/investigating/researching how to get into the home inspection business for several months now. Not to long ago a HI Bus. came up for sale in my area. The owner is willing to train me for thirty days and to help me as necessary after that. He seems to be a great guy and sincere in making sure the business continues to be successful. My background is in aircraft maintenance/electrical and avionics. I do not have a background in construction or civil engineering or anything like that. I am, however determined to succeed at whatever I do and am willing to do whatever it takes to succeed. I have read several forums on this website that would have you believe that you need to be a architect or constuction engineer. What do you guys think that have been in the business for a while. What is a good school to go to? I have seen many on the web. All, of course, say they are the best. Will I be the only inspector out there with no constuction experience. I would appreciate any input on this that I can get.

Hi ate-oh-oh,(odd name),

If you have the aptitude and skills for aircraft maintenance, avionics and electrical, there's no reason why you can't learn this business. A construction background helps a lot, but there are good inspectors in this business who have no construction background.

It's a matter of putting your mind to the task of learning all you can about construction, building science and the electro-mechanical systems that make up a home. There are a lot of components there, but homes basically boil down to about a dozen areas that you have to learn and learn well.