Should I get certified?

I am in the process of starting a home inspection business and I am wondering if I should get certified. I don't mean to offend anyone but I am not impressed with certification. I have 20 years of experience dealing with every aspect of houses. If you don't know the difference between a door and a window you can hand one of these private organizations 1,000 dollars, they send you a home study course and tell you you can run through it in a day if you want to. Or you can take a 3 to 5 day class and bam your certified. I think this is as close to a farse as you can get. I talked to a home inspector in my area that had a ton of clients and he never got certified for the same reasons, he had lots of real experience with homes and thought that mattered more than paying 1,000 bucks to get a word attached to his name. I am wondering how other inspectors feel about this. I don't like the idea of getting certified just so an ignorant public will think it means I know what I'm doing, I know what I'm doing I've been working in every aspect of home building and repair for 20 years. I really need some advice on this, I obviously want this business to work, but I don't want to throw out my principles to do it. Considering that just a few years ago no states required state licensing and now going on half of them do, I would say that the certification is failing anyway, at least going on half the states in the country seems to think so.

Well Bach, it's up to you.

I wouldn't spend my money on a hollow certification either. Consider this, you can be the best hammer mechanic in the business but that doesn't make you a home inspector.

You have to:

- Communicate what you know

- Make sure the client understands what you mean ( did I mention Communicate)

- Understand marketing

- Understand advertising

- Understand selling

- Be a curb stone lawyer

- Understand accounting and bookkeeping

- Understand insurance