Background

The only stable employment I've ever had was self-employment. Them deaf employees, they can't understand anything, ya know [;)]. So I've seen most everything except plumbing, sometimes construction, sometimes service, mostly residential but some commercial and industrial too. Punctuated by trades school twice and college once - 5 years.

It's been quite a ride.

I learned inspections the way I learned just about everything else, on my own, until I joined TIJ. TIJ is one of only 2 'schools' I've attended since my early elementary years where I was actually aware of what was being 'spoken' in the classroom. Ten years of state mandated CE classes I've been to and I've never comprehended anything spoken in them despite nearly always sitting in front. Don't tell my Board! [;)]

Marc

I'm guessing it is a long and twisted road for most.

I was a remodeling contractor and a bunch of labor work.

I started on a whim because my cousin who I worked with started doing it. We would be working a $25/hr job and he would leave and come back in two hours with $250.

I said I want some of this. That was in 1995.

What was your profession/trade before becoming an inspector? Carpenter/Contractor.

How did you learn to do inspections?

I was born with the knowledge! Being a nosy Contractor, I wanted to know the way and why of the subcontractors on my jobs, as I was the one to talk to the client about what was going on on their projects. I had my nose in everything from digging the hole to screwing on the last switch plate.

I also had (still do) a huge library of building books, magazines, catalogs, and Installation Manuals. My motto was: Some people think they know it all, I know I Know it all.

Well now ...

Born/raised in a small farming community in NE Montana. Plentywood and Outlook, MT.

After college & trade school worked in commercial broadcast radio (announcer & engineer) for many years.