Pre-list vs pre-purchase inspection and liability

The thought has been running in my head for quite some time. I was wondering if an inspector that performs a pre-list inspection can be held liable for something the pre-purchase inspection may bring up.

On one hand, the pre-list inspector might want to limit his responsibility toward the seller by reimbursing any amount up to the price of the inspection in case he missed something.

But on the other hand, the seller hired a professional to make sure he doesn't have any bad surprises arising from the pre-purchase inspection. I'm no lawyer, but imo, I think there could be huge legal ramification to this service. To me, the idea of limiting the liability to the price of the inspection is just too easy and I'm pretty sure this type of clause could be found null and void by a judge.

A pre-list inspector could be on the hook for the price of repairs or replacement for whatever he may have missed, whatever clauses his agreement with the seller may contain.

Anyone knows of jurisprudence on the matter and is a pre-list agreement considered a contract of service or a contract of result?

Opinions?

From what I've experienced, it's the perfect tool for those who have a vested interest in the sale to keep the unknowing from hiring an inspection of their own. See? It's already been inspected!

On the other hand, you're a smart guy. I think you already know the answer to this question.

If what you've missed is so huge as to cause the deal to fall apart, I could see some possible liability. Otherwise, I would highly doubt you would be on the hook for anything you missed during a pre-listing inspection.

Why not? How could you, as pre-listing inspector, hired by the seller, not be responsible?

Marc

Why not? How could you, as pre-listing inspector, hired by the seller, not be responsible?

Marc