Breaking the ICE

cchadwick

Here in Colorado the housing market has slowed a little. I am not a marketing guy but I recently found something that is breaking the ICE big time! My wife loves to go house looking (crazy I know considering the profession I'm in) inevitably you always run into the real estate agent and I have tried wearing my "Logo-ed" shirt and it never works...they never ask "So your a Home Inspector?" So I tried something new, I got this sweatshirt (I think you can get T-shirts as well) that says in big bold letters...TRUST ME...IM A HOME INSPECTOR and now I walk in and I have not only the agents coming up and talking to me but I have the other lookers asking for my card!! Brilliant! The sweat shirt is around $40 bucks and you can get it here a (link removed) It is working for me to break the Ice in the slow winter times.

Your site acknowledges a conflict of interest between contractor and inspector. If you can figure that out, you can also figure the conflict of interest that exists between inspector and agent.

Not to disparage. C of I's have been so pervasive for so long in our profession that inspectors forget they're there, but you already know that.

Welcome to the forum.

Marc