Stand By Generators not to Code!

Samuel Rock

NEC ARTICLE 702.5

Optional Standby Systems

(2) Automatic Transfer Equipment. Where automatic transfer equipment is used, an optional standby system shall comply with (2)(a) or (2)(b).

(a)Full Load. The standby source shall be capable of supplying the full load that is transferred by the automatic transfer equipment.

(b) Load Management. Where a system is employed that will automatically manage the connected load, the standby source shall have a capacity sufficient to supply the maximum load that will be connected by the load management system

So What this says in plain English is if your service from the power company is 200A then your generator needs to be 200A; If the generator is not 200A then you need to have a load management system installed.

I know that in my neck of the woods every generator that is installed does not have load management on it. I have been fighting to get the city inspectors to check for this since 2008 when this code went into effect.

I have not come across any homes with a generator installed since I have been doing insurance inspections, But this is going to be one of my pet peeves along with the suicide backfeeds! I have been preaching this for years at community meetings and at city council meetings. I always get the same response well it cost me $1800 less to install it without load management and my electrician told me it was optional.

If you get close to the big cities ie Baton Rouge, New Orleans, or Lafayette the same electrician that tells customers its optional in my back yard installs load management in his own back yard because he knows the inspectors look for it. I have taken this to state and local enforcement and no joy.