Software for old part time inspector?

I have been doing home inspections part time for more than 15 years. Within the last few years I went from hand written reports to EZ Home Inspection Software- I had to start somewhere. I would like to upgrade what I am using now. I usually perform no more than 6 inspections per month if that makes a difference. I am 60 years old and not the most technical guy on the block. I am looking for an attractive report that is fairly easy to learn. I would appreciate any recommendations. Thanks.

Barry

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

MS word 2007 has spellcheck. Do you have it on your computer? I could send you my template but you'll have to build your own boilerplate with a separate Word file.

If you include photos in your reports, Word works very well on that. You'll need Faststone Photo Resizer to reduce the sizes. It's a free download and easy to use.

My template is double-column. My online sample report is single column because of HTML restrictions but I could send my original version by Email so you can see if you like it.

We're about the same age.

Marc

You'll need Faststone Photo Resizer to reduce the sizes.

Marc, I use an MS Word template for my reports (have used it for 29 years). I use Windows Live Photo Gallery for resizing, which is also free. Any advantage you know of to using Faststone?

Speed. You can have 100 photos resized with about 20 seconds of set up. Might take a minute for it to process, which I use to do something else.

I use Windows Photo Gallery a lot on every report but for editing, not resizing. I'm not sure this is the same software as Live Photo Gallery.

Marc

Don't give up your old version of Windows. 10 is an SOB to work with photos in. 7 would remember all of my formatting, I am lucky if 10 remembers what file I have been grabbing pics from.