WiFi

Anyone got any first hand stories with WiFi-ing the TV? Got a 100 year old building where the TV's gotta be in a specific location on an inner wall, no place else, and the location precludes anything other than WiFi or the unacceptable routing of coaxial thru walls and along the baseshoe or snaking down from the ceiling....the backing wall is 4 brick thick demising/firewall between the two sides of the building no way it can be snaked from behind, can't come up from below either....it'd trash another persons apt. Can't get there from here.

Tread the iO Gear and ActionTec reviews, various others @ the blurb spots. The stated "spec's" all make references to 100' (+-) thru "standard house walls". Best guesses on the new stuff working reasonably well if it's only broadcasting sideways <50' thru wood lath and plaster?

Can anyone divine the tea leaves?

I have no experience with any walls that are 4 bricks thick, unheard of here in the land of big timber.

But I would advise simply searching for WiFi in that location with a laptop. If you can get cable WiFi with the laptop, it should be available for the TV as well. No guarantee, tho. Depends on the strength of the TV WiFi unit.

We have Roku, a gift from our son. Roku and cable internet, a world of almost commercial-free viewing.

That's where I want to get. A Roku or similar setup. This my joint. Taking over the top west floor of the apartment building and going new urbanist ethic. I can't get a cable to the spot without some cable guy abomination. I can go to the roof and drop down into a closet where I could put the router and gear. If I could broadcast to the TV, it would remove a heap of pain of installation.

I have AT&T Uverse wireless set top box in two of my rooms.

No different from the hard wired units other than a little bit of lag in the remote when flipping channels.

Mine is only 30' away with a bit of sheetrock and some brick through 2 to 4 walls between the router and the units.