Bonus points for creative problem-solving

David Meiland

That's a common method for tapping power in the automotive world.

Really? I've been working on cars for more than a few years and I have yet to see it. It's bubba either way. So where do they tap in, the battery cable? That's a fire hazard waiting to happen unless you run an inline fuse.

Well, something like that. Just the insulation is removed from the supply wire and the strands are separated. Then the supplied wire is wrapped into the strands and the whole mess is taped up.

If you don't like the idea, don't get a non- factory remote start installed.

(Don't anyway, they create some weird difficult-to-diagnose issues)

That's a common method for tapping power in the automotive world.

Really? I've been working on cars for more than a few years and I have yet to see it. It's bubba either way. So where do they tap in, the battery cable? That's a fire hazard waiting to happen unless you run an inline fuse.

Well, something like that. Just the insulation is removed from the supply wire and the strands are separated. Then the supplied wire is wrapped into the strands and the whole mess is taped up.

If you don't like the idea, don't get a non- factory remote start installed.

(Don't anyway, they create some weird difficult-to-diagnose issues)

I usually tap into the fuse box for power. Usually there are extra points for connections in battery, ignition and accessory modes. If I need to tap in to an existing circuit, I cut the wire, strip and use crimp type butt end connectors. Cut, and strip properly, crimp really tight with proper tool and I've never had a problem.