Whats your favourite device for IR inspections

Marco Polo

• 2 weeks later...

Haven't had much time to toy with it but it seems very easy to use. Had to discard my Otter Box because it's too thick for the FLIR One to plug in.

Definition doesn't seem to agree with advertised specs but I'm still learning.

Definitely like it so far. It's my first IR camera and a keeper.

Marc

Haven't had much time to toy with it but it seems very easy to use. Had to discard my Otter Box because it's too thick for the FLIR One to plug in.

Definition doesn't seem to agree with advertised specs but I'm still learning.

Definitely like it so far. It's my first IR camera and a keeper.

Marc

What about using it with something like this:

http://www.amazon.com/Female-Extension- ... b+extender

The charge port on my Iphone 5s is not a micro USB port, neither is the plug on my Iphone compatible Flir One.

I'm guessing its an Apple proprietary configuration. You have to specify IOS or Android when you buy the Flir One.

Plus, I think there's a required spatial relationship between Flir One and phone because some information from the phone's camera is superimposed over the IR image.

Marc

The charge port on my Iphone 5s is not a micro USB port, neither is the plug on my Iphone compatible Flir One.

I'm guessing its an Apple proprietary configuration. You have to specify IOS or Android when you buy the Flir One.

Plus, I think there's a required spatial relationship between Flir One and phone because some information from the phone's camera is superimposed over the IR image.

Marc

I'm sure that someone makes a similar connector with an Apple configuration. If the Flir One is working in concert with the phone's camera, there will always be some parallax error that varies with the distance to the subject. After you get more than a foot or two away, another half-inch of extra separation between the phone lens and the Flir One lens shouldn't make much difference.

• 8 months later...