Subpoena question

Good evening.

Back in the day, I was a home inspector in the great state of Oregon.

A client walked from an inspection I did due to a list of defects. (4-5 years ago). After my clients walked, someone else came in, hired their own inspector, and purchased this house.

Fast forward to this week.

I have had 2 separate plaintiffs attorneys call and leave numerous messages stating that they need me to testify in court regarding the place I inspected. I just got a voicemail stating that since I haven't returned their calls, they'll be sending me a subpoena compelling me to show up and testify.

The lawyers state that the 2nd inspection report was inadequate. How they got mine to compare to the 2nd guys, I don't know.

They state that the court date is scheduled for this coming week, which doesn't give me much time to prepare. I'm under the impression (likely false), that they missed their window of opportunity to serve me within x amount of time. What's the minimum amount of time required?

If I am required to appear, what's the best way to let them all know what I think about getting drug into something that I was never compensated for, four years later? They're using my "copyrighted" report without my permission, and I'm feeling "hostile" about the entire situation.

Copyright violated by a subpoena? Umm......no.

It's just a subpoena. Sometimes you get them and you go in and testify. It's called the justice system. In America. There's nothing to get hostile about. It happens. Try to get out of it. If you can't, it's part of being in the business.