Qualifications

This is a two part question.

I feel that I am qualified to begin but I know that I am weak in some areas. I have a bachelors degree in Conctruction Managment and Building Technology, I am a licenced builder and have been both a project engineer and project manager. I have also owned my own construction company. Saying this I feel that I very good knowledge of all phases of construction,however I feel weak in the mechanical areas (plumbing, hvac, and electrical) can anyone suggest some good sources to gain strength in these areas.

Part Two.

Now that you all know my resume I feel that I am approaching this knowing that I still need to gain Knowledge of the mechanical side of the inspections as well as the overall business aspect. One thing I have noticed is the weedend warriors who do this for a supplemental income who may not be the most qualified and have a lower pricing structure, how does this effect this industry and what are your opinions? I dont want anyone to think im against making an extra buck its the American way, im just curious as to how this is viewed from within the industry.

Thank you,

Tony

Tony,

Have you had any formal home inspector training?

Your past experience will help in some regards, but as you know the building trades don't always build or install things the way that they should be. As home inspectors we need to understand and know the proper way things are to be installed or built. We also need to be able recognize defects and it takes training and experience to recognize this.

I look back at the first fifty, one hundred, two hundred inspections I did and I shutter to think what I did no know and what I have learned. Every inspection is a learning experience.

As for low priced inspections; the inspector knows what he/she is worth! You have low ballers in every profession. Unfortunately they impact the consumer more than our profession.