Need Expert Opinions

Need some expert opinions...I am selling a home in the greater Houston area. Buyer's inspector included the following in the inspection report, "Observed elevated moisture readings, using the Tramex Moisture Encounter, on the inside of the exterior walls under/adjacent to the windows...". Since I have no experience in this area, was just wondering about the reliability of the Tramex. House has HardiBoard on the exterior and sheetrock on the interior. We have never experienced leaks in this area in 12 years. However, I did powerwash the outside wall within a few days of the inspection. Could the washing have impacted the moisture count? Additionally, any option other than pulling the siding and visually inspecting? If so, given the heat and humidity in the geographical area, would we expect the moisture reading to drop? Any insight would be very helpful. Thanks....

Let's see, some free expert advice. Ya know what they say about getting what you pay for! [;)]

The Tramex is a very good tool but as with any tool it has its limitations and it is subject to the experience of the person that is using it.

Just how elevated were the readings?

If moisture was found only below the windows it is most likely related to a flashing problem. Yes, you could have forced water into the wall if you power washed the house. Power washing a home is the worst thing you can do to it. You can force water into places that it does not belong.

Scott, thanks for the response. The report did not indicate any specific numbers, only a mention of "elevated" moisture readings. Is it standard practice to include readings in the report? Am I incorrect to assume that readings would vary throughout the structure under normal conditions?

I certainly don't mind repairing any damage that needs to be repaired. However, I want to be sure about the course of action prior to removing the siding for a visual inspection.

Thanks again for the response.

David