Inspection vehicle

pjkelly

Originally posted by pjkelly

I am just getting into the inspection business and wondering what type of vehicles people are using. I have a Ford Escape and am feeling a little undersized. Your comments are appreciated.

Really? I'd think the Escape would be just about perfect. You shouldn't need a very large vehicle for inspection work. I could never understand the F250 mentality. Heck all you need to carry are a couple of ladders, a tool bag or two and yourself.

I like my Honda CRV, but it's noisy. If I had to buy a new car tomorrow, I'd look hard at the Toyota RAV4.

If I didn't need the AWD, I'd be looking at very small cars. There's an inspector in Utah who drives an MG.

Ask Richard Moore to post a picture of his ride.

- Jim Katen, Oregon

The new CR-V's are really quite nice. A little larger than the previous models, and more than adequate to haul around anything you'd need to do the job. Or....

Honda Element; large interior space, good roof racks, good mileage.

Toyota RAV4; it's a 'yota, they run good and long.

Scion box-mobile; cheap, good mileage, large interior space.

Subaru; most excellent vehicle, but more expensive than the previous listings.

0r, a clean AFT-mobile, as in Any XXXX-ing Thing that gets good mileage.

I don't get the F250 ethic either. Entirely unnecessary for this business. Folks that have 'em, like 'em, but w/fuel costs being what they are, I also know plenty of folks trying to get rid of them, and they can't because no one wants them right now.

Cheap, good mileage, clean. That's really all that counts.

Greetings

I am looking into getting into the business full time

Presently working out of my 2003 Jetta Wagon

Preety good

fits everything pretty well

eventually looking at a Chevy HHR with roof ladder rack

Seems like they are becoming pretty popular with the service crowd.

Ideally would have prefferes a Chrysler MAGNUM AWD

buth with the price of gas !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

joe