First Commercial Inspection

Mark P

A couple times a year I get a call to do a commercial inspection. To this point I have declined. Today I get a call to inspect a building that was a carpet store and will be turned into a restaurant. There is a small apartment in the back. I told them that on commercial jobs I like to take a first hand look at the building before I give a price quote. I’ll go tomorrow. Now this will be my 1st commercial inspection, I’m in my 3rd year of home inspections, with around 600 under my belt.

I have read through the old post here on TIJ and what I have gartered as general guidelines for commercial inspections are:

#1 get / read and use as a general guideline ASTM E-2018-01

#2 Sub out electrical and HVAC

#3 Charge by the hour

# Pay special attention to the roof

Now looking at the pic on the MLS it looks like an old house turned into business.

So I don’t know if electrical and HVAC will be a problem?

Are the following items normally included for light commercial inspections:

#1 Handicap access, parking, etc. If so where do I find the standards? Are they included in ASTM E2018?

#2: OSHA

#3 would you recommend a Level II Environmental Site evaluation on this property?

Also since there is an apartment for rent attached to the building I was thinking to make it 2 separate inspections 1) commercial 2) home…?

Any suggestions / advice will be greatly appreciated

Image Insert:

2008529154033_2719246.jpg

11.82 KB

They're probably gutting the sucker out, so electro-mechanical will likely be planned for all new. If not you need to know.

Ask them what sort of requirements they have, and you can recommend the mechanical renovation to reflect those requirements.