Inspector in training

Well, I figure that it is about time I come out of the TIJ shadows and introduce myself. I am Troy Pappas from Virginia Beach. I have been devouring this board for the last five months in preparation of starting my own home inspection business. I know I have found a career that will continue to intrigue me, and keep me in a constant state of learning. I took the AHIT course in March (please do not attack me for that), which basically showed me how much I needed to learn.

Besides reading over as many posts as I can, I have spent the last few months reading and rereading the JLC Field Guides and every book pertaining to home construction the local library has to offer. I am now putting some time each day into reading the IRC and NEC books.

I have a basic background in construction, but have a fascination with home building. Unfortunately I thought a degree in finance would be more intriguing. Yes, it is very humiliating to spend four years in school studying something that bores you to tears when you get into the workforce.

I know that home inspecting is the career I have wanted for a long time. Also, I have no misconceptions about how difficult this pursuit will be. I have a job now that provides me the opportunity to start this new venture and see it through the hard times. Most importantly I have no intentions of inspecting for a fee until I am sure that I have a solid grasp on what I am talking about and selling.

This is the reason for my post today. Over the next month I plan on inspecting every friend and relatives house I can. I am hoping that between my photos and descriptions of what I am seeing that the immense base of knowledge on this board will help me learn even more about home inspecting. Reading can only take me so far. So, all opinions, suggestions and rebukes will be humbly accepted. Finally, where can I find a picture resizer for Vista? I don’t want to start off on the wrong foot asking for help here.

Thank you,