if you could go back?

Im new to the home inspection business and will be taking my state test this friday..i was wondering if people can give me some advice on what to do and what not to do in my early home inspection career and share the mistakes you wish you could of done differently

also, direct me to a website that sells home inspection tools/software/etc. and recommend which software to use?

thanks

Originally posted by jangalang32

Im new to the home inspection business and will be taking my state test this friday..i was wondering if people can give me some advice on what to do and what not to do in my early home inspection career and share the mistakes you wish you could of done differently

thanks

Leave the house exactly the way you found it. Not doing so, even in the most miniscule way, caused me more headaches early on than any *inspecting* thing I might have done wrong.

thats it, really? you turn something on that you shouldnt of?

when it comes to hands on experience did anybody not have much training on site?

i have a job that is part time work but full time pay which is why i am doing HI's to fill my time so i want to take my time feeling comftorable but even going into this state test i dont feel anywhere close to being ready to do a home inspection

...give me some advice on what to do and what not to do in my early home inspection career and share the mistakes you wish you could of done differently.

I was mentored for over 100 inspections before turning myself loose on the innocent public. If starting over, I would spend those hundred inspections being mentored by each of the top ten inspectors in the country.

also, direct me to a website that sells home inspection tools/software/etc. and recommend which software to use?
Go to the front page www.inspectorsjournal.com and scroll down to the Hi-essentials ad in the right column. You won't find any better prices on tools.

Originally posted by inspecthistoric