Lock box

I know I saw something here before about this but I can't find it.

Seems I'm being asked more often about whether or not I have a lock box key. I do not and I'm not sure I want one.

My feeling is, if you want to sell a house, you should take an interest and be there. Another reason is, because I'm new and the majority of the referrals I'm going to get at this stage of the game are from REA s. I want them there to watch the way I conduct myself during an inspection. They all talk to each other. What do I know? I'm still a rookie.

Any pros or cons?

If you just want to point me back to that thread to reread it that's fine.

Hey Gary,

I have always thought it is a regional issue. We have been around a few decades and never had access without an agent or seller. I have been re-thinking that for a couple of years and don't think it is an issue I could really argue about.

For years I was adamant and would not allow an inspector to do an inspection without an agent or owner being present and allowing access. Now I still feel the same way, except there are lots of repos and FSBO deals and it really makes no difference.

The liability issue is huge, regardless. If you have a keybox key or supra key, then you would be covered under the contract that gave you the key and their bond.

I can't tell you how many calls I have received regarding furnaces etc that worked perfectly until the inspector got there, etc. Aunt Martha's favorite necklace is gone, gold coins missing. "Who gave you permission to be in my house!"

Maybe just permit yourself to be as efficient as other local inspectors.

I am sure others will post more information.