Frost on underside of roof sheathing

Apex

Hi there. After looking for a similar scenario already in the forums I came up with only a few results which touched on my issue to a degree but not as much as I needed. So I decided to start a new thread. Read only if you've got some time on your hands, I'm afraid I wrote a book.

First a little background; I'm a general contractor in southwest Virginia. We do some residential new construction but most of our work consists of remodels, additions, etc. All that to say that I've seen a good amount of nasty renovation situations.

I was called by my former landlord to check out some gutters that were leaking at the single story apartment I used to rent. It was built 50 years ago and has old asbestos siding without any housewrap. The apartment is attached to another apartment but at a 90 degree angle to the other one. So if you were to picture an L shape except that both portions of the L were the same size. The roof pitch is a 3/12 with asphalt shingles and felt. Some of the sheathing is CDX and some is the old 1x horizontal bracing. The attic space has neither soffit, ridge, or gable vents. The single bathroom is unvented.

When I got there the current tenant asked if the landlord had asked me to check the water and mold in the apartment, I said no but that I could check it out for her. All along the western facing side of the apartment they had moisture at the baseboard and in some places up 2' on the walls. On a portion of the south facing gable end there was moisture along the baseboard and it actually was moist all the way up to the ceiling. Mold was forming in all these locations. I'm pretty sure that some of the moisture on the western facing side of the house is due to the siding "failing" due to the tremendous amount of rain and stormy weather we have received in the last 1 1/2 months. The water coming from the ceiling was another matter that I wanted to explore in the attic.