Noobie Here

Just want to introduce myself and say HI.

So... I'm Jeremy Paschedag, I'm from St. Louis, MO. I am studying to become a HI. Thanks to Randy N, I have found TIJ and have been reading lots and lots of posts.

Are there any HI from the STL area here? According to the map, I didn't notice any.

Although Brian G might have problems with drip pans, I always look forward to his signature and 'title'/closing phrase.

I do have a couple of questions. I have handyman experience, but have done everything in, on, and/or around my house except roofing, masonry, and HVAC work. So my question, is in your opinions would it be best to try and get a job with an established HI company? Or go it on my own? I should also mention that I am not intending for HI's to be my main job. I plan to keep my day job.

The next question goes the HI's who have been doing this for awhile, out of curiousity have you ever inspected the same house more than once? Meaning you inspected a house say 4 years ago, then that buyer sells the house and another buyer buys the same house so you inspect it again.

Thanks!

Jeremy,

What is your day job?

Yep, have inspected the same house several times over the years. Actually inspected a house in the morning and again in late afternoon.

There are lots of inspectors in the St Louis area, many are top notch and a couple of duds. Get connected with the St Louis Chapter of ASHI for educational purposes and professional friendships. Sounds like they will not be your peer group, rather folks that could help. I know several of them and they are a feisty bunch!

Good Luck.

Jeremy,

What is your day job?

I'm a desk jockey. I' a programmer. But don't worry, I'm not looking to write any software for the HI business. Unless I'm asked, but I doubt that will happen.

So, would it be advantageous for me to work for a HI company before giving it a whirl on my own?

Just want to introduce myself and say HI.