AL, Pigtailing, Ideal 65, C PSC vs NEC

DonTx

Okay,

As I've understood it for quite some time, the CPSC does not recognize pigtailing AL and Copper as a safe alternative but the NEC does.

Now this is where I get a little fuzzy....if the wires are pigtailed, can any wire nut be used or just an Ideal 65 type nut? Yes, I know there are issues with Ideal 65's. But I'm wondering if any ole wire nut will work or does it have to be a special one?

Donald

Oh boy, a real can-o-worms. Last I knew for sure, only the Ideal 65 was approved for such uses as far as wire nuts went. There is (or was) also a more expensive compression connection system out there called Copalum (?) or something like that, but one had to be trained / authorized to do it ($$$). I think a few other manufacturers' have gotten into the wire nut act since, but I'm not sure.

Whether any ole' wire nut will work is another question altogether, but as an inspector I wouldn't go near that debate with a client. No way. My understanding is that many of the original problems with aluminum NM cable was related to mixing the AL wire with devices and connectors designed only for copper, so there are genuine technical problems with such practices. Err on the side of caution here. Defer to the "qualified electrician with experience working with these materials".

Brian G.

Hi to all,

Interesting area here, from my twisted perspective I believe that the COPALUM conectors are the "BEST" way to "repair" single strand aluminum conductors, but personally don't much trust any of the so called repair methods, and if I had aluminum in my own home it would be comming out. I recommend to my students that if they see any SS Aluminum brach wiring to recommend further evaluation by a licensed electrical contractor, as it is not unusual for some readily accessable joints to have been "repaired" but others in attic and other junction boxes to have been ignored.

Regards

Gerry

Thanks everyone,