Bathroom and Panel Locations Newbie needs HELP!

stlouistage

Hello,

I am no licensed electrician by any means but I do work with alot of low voltage systems and have enough understanding about electricity to know not to mess around with codes or the inspection process. So here is my issue. My fiance and I want to buy a house in St. Louis, MO. Upon inspection of the house we found that the owner built a full bath in the basement around the breaker panel for the house. The breaker panel is located in a closet adjacent to the shower. The closet is vented and enclosed from the rest of the bathroom. Even if this some how passes the city inspection right now, I feel this could potentially bite me in the butt later down the road. Am I putting too much thought into this or do I have a legitimate argument. I would appreciate any thoughts on this and if anyone would like to see pictures I will be happy to provide them.

Thanks Chris

In addition to the electrical (can't have a panel in the bathroom.....well, technically, one can't have overcurrent devices/breakers in a bathroom), I have to wonder if the bsmt. bathroom has it's own issues.

Sounds like a mess of DIY. You buy it, you're buying the sellers problems.

Chris,

I have been inspecting houses for a few years and actually bought a house that has the "panel" in the basement bath. Absolutely wrong! Didn't care and bought house regardless.

If and when I sell, I will disclose it. Moving a panel is always expensive. If youou were buying my house, I would advise you to have it changed.

I suspect one could say buyers can hold inspectors to a higher standard as regards disclosure.

Another thought........

Several municipalities have ordinances requiring all work to have permits and inspections, or the homeowner can be held accountable for retroactive compliance repairs should those conditions be discovered.

IOW, you may be required to repair stupid stuff in the house you have nothing to do with.