Follow up to IR talk

Terry G

I've been using IR for the last several months. Clients love the IR cam and it makes me look smart (not an easy task).

It's great for verifying problems you suspect but can't see and sometimes reveals problems you don't suspect or see.

It's got way large cool factor.

It's one thing to say "the house is going to burn down soon blah,blah,blah" but when you add the pics it's much more dramatic.

Image Insert:

2008812838_IR000115.jpg

7.62 KB

Image Insert:

20088128336_IR000114.jpg

13.07 KB

Originally posted by Terry G

I have been following all the IR talk and am curious what your guys thoughts are now that you have been using it for awhile. Have you checked with your insurance companies to make sure the have your back?

An IR camera is just another tool, it is no different than if you use a SureTest or a moisture meter. It is just an expensive tool! When folks have problems and they have to call in their E&O provider to bail them out it is not because they used an IR camera.

Inspector folks get into trouble when they screw-up and under report, miss a major item or the just can not write a report that conveys what they found or didn't find.

Now on the other hand, I have been involved in a case that a home owner sued a home inspector who used an IR camera and misdiagnosed the condition that he thought he was seeing. The homeowner removed a large section of wall to get to a "hot electrical wire" that the home inspector found. The inspector said that the wire was going to catch the house on fire. Once the wall was opened up, it turned out to be a PEX water line that was running down from the attic and around the wall in the living room. No leaks and no electrical problems. Buyer walked and owner sued and case was settled in favor of the plaintiff.