crawl space recomendations

Ridgerunner

.I am trying to improve energy efficiency in my house.

I live in central Va. with summer temp. 95 degree +, winter low 15 to 30 degrees.

I have brick ranch home 2500 sq ft. Built in 1973. Heat pump located in attic.

Attic is well insulated.

Crawl Space , vented, no insulation, powder dry, no mold, outside entrance, no ground vapor barrier. Located in the crawl space is the water pressure tank.

I like the idea of sealing the crawl space, trying to insulate between the floor joists would be difficult due to electrical, plumbing, central vac, tel, tv cables, etc.

I was a telephone installer for years and spent a great deal of time under houses, I never saw a vapor barrier I liked, they either had water puddles or terrible dampness under the barrier. I had a crawl space at another location and a termite inspector recommended I put down a vapor barrier on a dry dirt crawl space, a year later I had a damp dirt crawl space that had rusted stored bicycles, lawnmowers, and other stored metals. OK enough about vapor barriers, I think they draw moisture.

I am open to suggestion, recommendation, and comments.

Thanks , Richard

I like the idea of sealing the crawl space, trying to insulate between the floor joists would be difficult due to electrical, plumbing, central vac, tel, tv cables, etc.

Thanks , Richard

Vapor barriers SHOULD have moisture underneath them. They are stopping the mositure at the barrier.

If you are planning a sealed and conditioned crawl space system, one of the major components is a totally sealed vapor barrier on the floor extending up the sides of the walls, piers and columns about a foot. The joints would be taped.

I live in central Va. with summer temp. 95 degree +, winter low 15 to 30 degrees.

I have brick ranch home 2500 sq ft. Built in 1973. Heat pump located in attic.

Attic is well insulated.

What does "well insulated" mean? Is it at least 12" of cellulose or 15" of fiberglass?