Buying Foreclosed Real Estate Properties

I have been a Houston Professional Real Estate Inspector for several years, I have seen my share of great investments in the line of foreclosures and I have seen some really bad investments as well. It is not always easy to tell one from the other without the assistances of a professional.

Buying a foreclosure property can be a great investment, but you need to do your homework first. Don’t rush into any real estate deal blind, you may trip and fall. How far and how hard you fall depends on you, your financial status and the property at hand. It can be an ideal situation that is both for both the buyer and the bank or lean holder.

This article is directed at the buyer, the one taking the real risk with the property transaction. First check and see what the other home’s in the area are selling for, what is the climate of the neighborhood and is the area located in a flood plan. After you have found a home that is selling for a great deal below the average cost in that area STOP!

Smell the roses and look for the thorns, get involved with a real estate agent if you are new in the business of real estate investments. Wrong decisions here can mean your first investment will be your last investment. Consult with a professional real estate agent that specializes in buying homes in this market area, better yet, one that specializes in foreclosure investment properties.

Next, contact a licensed real estate inspector who has extensive experience with foreclosed or reposed property inspections. Compare their qualifications, but also their quality of home inspection reports. The inspection report is only as good as the paper it is presented on. Trash in equal’s trash out, a poorly written inspection report will not benefit you in making the final purchase decision.