Zinsco Breakers

mdramis

Ok guys this is a zinsco panel in my own house. I'm new at this so tell me everyting I need to know about it and don't hold back. The other pic is the junction box to the condensing unit and the conduit, or should I say what's left of it going to the condensing unit.

Download Attachment: icon_photo.gif 2005_0606Image0015.JPG

481.83 KB

Download Attachment: icon_photo.gif 2005_0606Image0014.JPG

489.88 KB

Download Attachment: icon_photo.gif 2005_0606Image0013.JPG

471 KB

The 2 worse panels for an electrician or an inspector to see on a job is a Zinsco or a Federal Pacific. The problem is that the breaker become lose and begins arcing, building up heat and becoming even more lose. This one looks in pretty good condition. But my suggestion would be to replace it as soon as possible. If you have to replace one of those 50amp breakers, if you can find one, your probably going to pay close to a hundred dollars for it. As for the condensor wiring, I think it goes without saying, repair or replace. Looks like its been hit with the lawnmower or the weed eater a few too many times. Good luck.

T.

In addition to what was said earlier, they haven't allowed breakers to trip up (Go up when tripped) for years. Think about it, when the breaker trips the handle gos up, then gravity pulls it back down, if the breaker is bad (and many Zinsco breakers are) then the connection is made again and arcing starts.

Replace it as soon as possible.

Originally posted by mdramis

Ok guys this is a zinsco panel in my own house. I'm new at this so tell me everyting I need to know about it and don't hold back. The other pic is the junction box to the condensing unit and the conduit, or should I say what's left of it going to the condensing unit.

It's a nasty old panel. Replace it.

Of course you need to replace the compressor wiring as well.

If you want to know more about Zinsco panels, search past posts on this forum. There ought to be plenty to read.