Respirators

Scorp100

I'm a newbie working on my parallel inspections in the Phoenix area. As I build my assortment of tools, I'd like to ask you veterans about RESPIRATORS. My goal is to avoid illness from molds, dust, fiberglass, etc., but also avoid dangers from cheap equipment that can build up carbon monoxide. Any suggestions would be appreciated. One suggestion was to get one at Sears, but I don’t know what to look for.[:-crazy]

Thanks!

You don't need anything fancy. Just get one that fits you well and be sure to test the seal every time you use it. I've used an inexpensive AO Safety half-face respirator with P100 filters for years. I picked it up at the orange box for around $35. and I buy the filters about a half dozen at a time. I forget what I paid for them.

There isn't anything that's going to filter out CO and doing home inspector work you're not going to be exposed to it unless you're foolish enough to lie down to take a nap in a furnace room someplace.

One Team - One fight!!!

Mike

Mike's Right

I use a AO 1/2 face I bought at the orange box also.

Honest truth is that this time of year I don't wear it unless I have too. the da#N thing is hotter than he!!. If you wear it in an attic, it will be soaked when you come out. I only wear in in crawl spaces under manufactured homes now.

I live around the corner from you in Gilbert, trust me.

Unless you have bad allergies you wont wear it, If you do have bad allergies, you probably wont stay in the business for more than a year anyway.

As stated above, respirators only filter out particals. If you are that concerned about CO either wear a SCBA (aka Scott Air Pack, imagine what firefighters wear) or wear/use a CO detector.

CO is deadly, but the odds of it being in a highy enough concentration to harm you in a short period of time is very low. If you were working inside tanks (water or oil, or other very confined air tight spaces) you should be concerend, but not doing inspecitons.