how is two-pole breaker rated on main?

Peanut

I was over to the neighbor's house and he is renovating an older home. He says that the service panel has a double pole breaker and each breaker is 70 amps. Doesn't that mean that the house is supplied with 70 amps and not 140?

I'm still new to the electrical thing and haven't yet completed all my learning on that.

How exactly is a house rated on the amount of amps coming in? If it is one breaker and says "100" I understand it is no more than 100 amps. But if it had a double pole and each breaker said "100"?

If his new house had only 70 amps coming in, would the power company even turn on the power? That's very outdated.

Thanks for any help understanding this.

Alex, keep in mind that it's a 120/240 volt service. If everything below the 70 amp main was single pole 120 voltage, you could say that the panel is capable of feeding 140 amps total. If everything below was double pole 240 then the total would be 70. Of course we normally have a mix but, no matter what that mix is, the amount of available power or watts actually remains the same (watts = volts x amps). It is a little confusing, and I'm not so sure about three-phase, but for single phase panels the industry standard for sizing nomenclature is the amount of amps per pole or leg, not the total. In other words, a double pole 70-amp main breaker is considered a 70-amp service.

On your last question, I don't think the utility company cares about the the total capacity, but the city inspector/permit guys might if it's a total remodel.

Now see? That's what I thought. I told him that if more than 70 goes through that breaker, it will trip because they are connected. He seems to think that he will have 140 amps. He thinks he is going to add central heat and air to that house without upgrading the service!

I say he is in for $2500 or more just for the electrical upgrade. Oh, I found out the house was built in