Anyone use Pro-Lab test kits from HD, Lowes, etc.?

Alex1803

Does anyone recommend Pro-Lab home testing kits (asbestos, lead paint, mold, water quality, radon, etc.) found in most home stores for a more complete inspection to their clients? These seem like a complete set of kits to offer as a package to potential clients. I know there are more expensive means of measuring some of the same items (like a continuous radon monitoring system, dedicated CO monitoring, etc.) but I found these and thought as a newbie, I could offer them to clients. Any thoughts would be great. Thanks.

I wouldn't.

I'd tell them that if they're concerned about those things they should have the home tested by a professional lab, not a home inspector. If they bellyached about cost, I'd tell them where they could find the test stuff at the big box and tell them that they're welcome to do it themselves, but I'm not going to do it for them and shoulder that additional liability. About as far as I've ever gone with any environmental testing is to drop off samples at a lab for a customer, put in the order in the customer's name and tell the customer where he or she can pick up and pay for the results.

I say do one thing and do it well. Let other folks whose fields actually have something to do with that kind of thing do all that other crap.

Home inspectors have enough things to do and worry about without trying to become the local Quicky Mart selling everything under the sun.

ONE TEAM - ONE FIGHT!!!

Mike

Mike-

Do you do any radon testing? How about CO monitoring? You make some good points about doing one thing and doing it well. I am trying to come out of the gates in stride and I thought that by offering more services in addition to home inspections would generate a lot of business. Thanks for the advice.

Alex

Originally posted by Alex1803