EXTECH MO295 ???

immxpert

Hello, I'm new in the buisness of H.I. but have been a remodeler for 30 years.I'm loking to buy a moisture tester and I was hesitating between the SM or the Tramex. But then I saw the EXTECH MO295 and find it interesting any comments anybody?

Thank You

Maurice

Hello, I'm new in the buisness of H.I. but have been a remodeler for 30 years.I'm loking to buy a moisture tester and I was hesitating between the SM or the Tramex. But then I saw the EXTECH MO295 and find it interesting any comments anybody?

Thank You

Maurice

I tend to avoid Swiss Army Knives. They have a lot of functions but they don't do any of them well.

- Jim Katen, Oregon

I use one of these Extech multi function models and it performs well enough to give good moisture and RH readings. I use a separate IR thermometer. There are two down sides I've noticed so far. The protective head on the tip comes off so you have to be gentle with that. It's just a cap. Also, there is only one alarm each for RH and Moisture, so if you're going to different areas and want multiple alarm settings this isn't the meter for you. But for what I expect of it, it does the job. I haven't used the pins once yet. I'm usually checking surfaces with pinless and RH in attic/crawl.