Mini-ducts

pete

I am getting read to build a house for myself and I am trying to learn more about them. I have seen them on TV but can not seem to find alot of info. Are they as good as advertised? I am trying to hold to energey efficient standards so using the mini ducts might make it easier to keep them all on inside walls.

Pete

Hi Pete,

I somewhat envey you at building your own home that includes a high pressure ventilation system.

I know of one excellent company that I'm comfortable with, The UNICO System.

www.unicosystem.com

As a contractor, I have attended their last workshop in Canada, they will offer installers workshop at their St.Louis plant at a cost of $300.00 per weekend.

It's a most excellent product WHEN INSTALLED BY TRAINED CONTRACTORS.

If you wish to discuss this, you can PM me or do it here...your choice.

I implore you to research it before you implement it into your home design.

Originally posted by pete

What HVAC websites were you referring to?

Try Googleing different combinations of heating, cooling, ventilation, HVAC, etc. with "forums". There are a lot of different ones out there, running from design & engineering sites to contractors to homeowners. The only one I can recall offhand is HVAC-Talk.com . I did a little snooping on this topic once and ran across a discussion among contractors who basically felt the efficiency wasn't so good for the money (more SEER for less bucks with other systems).

Which leads me to another question. Exactly what the heck is SEER? Can someone explain it in terms I might understand?

Brian G.

Rob,

The Unico site is very interesting. They seem to have a very flexible product, lots of options. Their claim of much less humidity rang a bell. That same discussion I ran across before touched on that. One of the contractors named some advance in certain conventional systems which equalled that mark, but I didn't fully follow him (shock).