More on infra-red

stollison

First let me say thank you to Inspectors Journal for this great forum which I have just discovered. I really look forward to learning more about this industry as I am considering becoming a home inspector in the future. Speaking of infra-red (see earlier topic) I think I know the company that Aaron mentioned, Homesafe Inspection. My brothers may buy a Homesafe franchise in Houston, I saw the company's demo here myself last month, and was really psyched about it. There are two franchises in Okla. already and my brothers met with them....they are brothers too! They said it has been successful for them and got them write ups in their newspapers. Homesafe has infra-red photos on their web site, www.homesafeinspection.com/sights.php. But not being a home inspector myself, just an interested bystander, I don't know much about the technical side of it. Just my two cents worth. I do think it's exciting.

It's mostly hype for residential inspections. The cost of the equipment and the royalty fees are high. I have an inspector in my area that bought into the franchise and she is having a hard time selling the extra service. Nothing will ever take the place of an experienced visual inspection.

Hello

Back after a short absence. My company has invested in the infrared scanners. So far I am impressed with the devices. We did not become a franchisee because we already had a good business.

The scanners are helping us get most of the "price" callers to go with our company over our competitors. But I agree with one of the comments. Nothing will ever take the place of the trained visual inspection. But the Infrared scanners do enhance the trained inspectors abilities. (that is what a tool should do)

Thanks for the continued intrest in my post.

Aaron

• 1 month later...