AHIT Recomendations/ Problems?

Hey guys and gals. I'm just getting into the business and am planning on taking the AHIT training outside Milwaukee. Anyone recomend or discourage it? I would appreciate any input. I'm a rookie with these chat rooms so please bear with me. Also any suggestions about starting up my business would be great as well!!

John K

The Newcombers are long time "inspectors" and enjoy a good reputation, given their exposure. I have two inspectors that took that training and have mixed feelings regarding content. Like all inspector training, it is what you make of it. Send me an e/mail for details.

John,

Welcome,

Read everything that you can, Inspect as many dry run homes as you can, parents, friends etc.

Taking a course is a great idea. Finding a mentor is also an important step, you may want to consider a franchise. Have a written business plan. After you write the plan double your expenses and cut your projected sales in half, if you can still make it then go for it.

If you can get past the first year you have a good chance of getting to 5, if you get past 5 you beat the odds.

You can email me too if you would like.

Bruce

bruce@a-ztech.us

Thanks for the info. Do I just approach someone about mentoring or are there programs set up through some of the different associations? Did/Do you have one and if so, how did you contact him? I'm getting a little nervous about the time it takes to get started in this business from people in other forums but I can tell you I will do whatever it takes to learn, market or increase the business. I've recently been laid-off so I am motivated. I appreciate any advice anyone can offer.

John K

One of the most significant rites of passage into this profession involves sending 50 steak bucks from Omaha Steak Company to Hiram Appleby / 2425 Dewey Avenue/ Rochester, NY 14615

I assure you that it's a coincidence that Hiram has the same address as me.