Getting Over The Headaches of Marketing

Like many home inspectors, over the past nine years I have seen my business go on a wild home inspection roller coaster. There were weeks in the 2007 year, where I had no idea where the next job was coming from to back in 2004 where I was turning away business. So what about the current market and moving forward?

I believe as the younger generations become older to where they can buy a home, how we obtain business will be much different. The younger generations are much more advanced in technology. This means as a home inspector I must become relevant with my customers. I have even seen the way my Real Estate Agents are starting to change with the technology.

So moving forward, I know that as a Home Inspector, I am going to have to market two types of customers heavily compared to previous years were I relied on Real Estate Agents that prefer using my services. This change will come easy to some home inspectors and some will call my blog post hogwash.

My Top 5 To Do's To Getting Over Marketing Headaches

1) Writing Real Estate Agents and my customers Personal Letters or Thank You Cards for their referral or business.

2) Supporting Real Estate Agents with New Tips on Technology. (Use Mail Chimp to send a specific letter of technology tips. Don't Spam)

3) I hired a Web Developer that cost nothing upfront to build a website and achieve Top Google Ranking. (This one was a little tricky but as we all know most seo companies make false promises. I paid nothing upfront to get ranking)

4) Video Marketing - I bought an iFlip to film some of my home inspections.

5) Network Meetings: Network, Network, Network. The more people that know you are the expert in the area. The more people that are going to refer you.