Icynene?

rlskfoster

Did a house built in 1973 today and all was going well until I poked my head in the attic.

I saw the sprayed on type insulation. Now I've seen this alot in new construction in the walls but this is my first time to see it int he attic. I was wondering if it was Icynene.

Anybody got any problems with the application of this stuff. I explained that I had not seen it used as insulation for the attic and told my clients I would do some research.

Buster

Download Attachment: icon_photo.gif Sanchez 036.jpg

84.2 KB

It looks like Urea Foam Formaldehyde Insulation (UFFI) to me. Did you touch it? Icynene is hard, but you can turn UFFI to dust just by pinching it.

If installed properly, UFFI is a great insulation. If there was too much formaldehyde in the mix, the excess off gassed, often into the house, and made people sick.

If it was done properly, there were no problems. If it was done improperly, it was a problem 25 years ago, but it stable now. You should Google it up.

Anyway, it's hard to tell from that photo, but that what it looks like to me.

Does not look like UFFI to me, but Jims pinch test is usually 100% accurate. If you google it up you will find forty million opinions on both sides of issue. In Michigan and Canada it must be disclosed by seller and usually has a negative effect on selling price. Let your client make the decision.

Personally I don't like anything that is still controversial after forty years of discussion.

Ditto what Jim and Les said about the pinch test.

I'd be surprised if it were UFFI, only because it looks far too clean to have been there for 32 years. Not sure I agree that icynene is "hard". You can squeeze it and it will rebound a little bit but not completely. If it's closed-cell foam it will really be hard and rigid.