Price shoppers

I had an irritating experience with a price shopper a bit back which has been nagging at me so I want to vent a bit.

My daughter, who schedules my appointments and does most of the phone work called me and said a client wanted to talk to me about an inspection. I called the client and she said she had called a competitor and they charge $100 less than I do. He had done over 500 inspections (wow) and never had a claim. What made my inspection worth $100 more?

I realized she wanted to know my experience but was in a poor mood and the method of questioning irritated me. I basically said that I do not charge based on what my competitors charge and if she was shopping for price, I wasn’t interested. Book the appointment with that guy who has all that “experienceâ€

I like to tell 'em this:

There are Lexus inspectors and there are Yugo inspectors. I'm a Lexus inspector. In over 10 years, I've never even had to sit down to an arbitration table with an unhappy client. You can go with the Yugo guy for a $100 less if you like, but don't be surprised if what he misses costs you the price of a Lexus."
OT - OF!!!

M.

I use to get ticked when people would question my pricing, but I realized that I do the same when I'm shopping for a product or service. A few years back I started to change my tone with price shoppers and I started treating them like all callers, nice and cordial. Did it pay off? I have no idea, but I do know that it no longer bothers me for a person to price shop. Life is too short to let the small stuff bother you. When I'm asked why my rates are higher, my response is usually "Experience and knowledge".

Originally posted by hausdok

I like to tell 'em this: