My website part 2

chicago

• 2 months later...

Bob,

I am currently building a website also. It will be up for its shot on the firing line soon enough. I did have a few comments.

I personally think the links on the left would be better if you could see them all at once (in a seperate frame, maybe? smaller also.)

Why do you have three sites? I know one is a blog, which I would link to as "My Blog" or something like that. The other site covers a lot of the same info, do you really need to link to it?

On the bottom of the page, are those other links? Some of the text at the very bottom is hard to read due to the color.

I know you posted this a while ago, but I am just now building my own, and therefore doing research here.

By the way, I love your report, that is really great.

Bob...I'm no expert, and some of this may be a bit harsh...but you asked.

This is just for the home page.

So...almost the first thing you do is tell people to go elsewhere! If you must have those links...put them at the bottom, perhaps with a brief explanation of what they are.

I already know what date it is...thankyou! If you want that, stick it in a corner and small.

The picture of you on the ladder is cute, and you could use it elsewhere, but a guy with a hard hat hanging onto a ladder doesn't yell at me "This is a trained professional". By all means, use a photo of yourself on the home page but find one that's a bit more "generic" and better quality (higher res).

Briefly explain why you are the guy they want on the home page. Most won't get much further than this. Licensed by the state is good and meaningful, but most homeowners don't know a "nachi" from their elbow, and don't care. Move that towards the end. I'd want to know you are going to do a thorough home inspection, period.