From Robert Bruss

Why recommend ASHI?

Q. Why do you always recommend home buyers hire inspectors who belong to the American Society of Home Inspectors? I am a professional home inspector, formerly a home builder, who chooses not to become an ASHI member because of their outrageous requirements. There are several other excellent home inspection organizations which have equally competent inspector members. Does ASHI pay you? ASHI does not pay me to recommend their fine national organization. Non-ASHI members like you often complain that I don't mention their home inspection organizations.

There are many inspectors who are not ASHI members. However, I know of no other nationwide group that has such high membership standards. Do you?

Unfortunately, some realty agents often recommend non-ASHI home inspectors who are known as easy non-deal killers. But home buyers need tough, honest inspectors who will thoroughly inspect homes and report to buyers the facts discovered.

REAL ESTATE QUESTION?

Questions should be mailed to Robert Bruss, 251 Park Road, Burlingame, CA 94010. Or, to e-mail questions, go to www.bobbruss.com and click on "Ask Bob a Question."

Robert

Bruss

email this print this

Originally posted by mcramer

Unfortunately, some realty agents often recommend non-ASHI home inspectors who are known as easy non-deal killers. But home buyers need tough, honest inspectors who will thoroughly inspect homes and report to buyers the facts discovered.

It's a lovely endorsement Mark, but everyone here knows it isn't that simple by a longshot. A lot of RE agents recommend inspectors who are known as "easy non-deal killers" whether they are ASHI or not. More than a few ASHI inspectors have complained about their own local ASHI bucketheads on this site and ASHI's own. No organization is immune, and percentages are impossible to argue.

Having said that, if one had to throw a dart at a board one could do much worse and probably no better elsewhere (IMHO).