Gas Space Heater Replacing Electric Baseboard Heat

cushjg

I am a Realtor in Ottawa, Canada. I recently had a Home Inspector perform an inspection on behalf of a client. This is a multi level row house, actually 5 levels. You come in on the basement/powder room level up a few steps to the living room, then a few more steps to the kitchen/family room and dining room level, then a few more steps to the master bedroom level, then a few more steps to the main bath and two other bedrooms. The whole place used to heated with electric baseboard heat each with its own thermostat. A previous owner took out the baseboard heat in all rooms except the basement/entry level and the two bedrooms on the 5th level. They then installed a gas stove in the living room which heats the 2nd, 3rd and 4th levels simply by "hot air rising". Does this satisfy all codes and construction practices?

Can each room be heated to 68 degrees (20 degrees C) on the coldest day of the year without using portable space heaters?

Will the choice be leave the door open on the bedrooms and be voyeurs or shall the occupants get some wooly mammoth hides and pursue Eskimo sex with the door closed?

I smell whale oil... do you smell whale oil?

Can each room be heated to 68 degrees (20 degrees C) on the coldest day of the year without using portable space heaters?

Will the choice be leave the door open on the bedrooms and be voyeurs or shall the occupants get some wooly mammoth hides and pursue Eskimo sex with the door closed?

I smell whale oil... do you smell whale oil?

Your 1st comment - can each room... sounds like some kind of code statement. Is that correct?

Hi,