Heat pump operation

Jmonahan43

Newbie here, I recently bought a home with a Rheem heat pump, Model RQKA A036JK, with heat strips installed. My question is, are the heat strips supposed to come on each cycle when the tstat calls for heat? I know that the heat pump looses capacity when the temps are below 40 deg. I have observed during the past winter, outside temps 0 to 20 deg. that the air coming from the ducts is quite cool at times. The tstat is a carrier, and it must have been installed about in 2003 and I have no info on it. seems that there is no programming to it. I can find no model # on it. Is this as good as it gets or do I need to call for service?

Thanks,

Jim

Newbie here, I recently bought a home with a Rheem heat pump, Model RQKA A036JK, with heat strips installed. My question is, are the heat strips supposed to come on each cycle when the tstat calls for heat? I know that the heat pump looses capacity when the temps are below 40 deg. I have observed during the past winter, outside temps 0 to 20 deg. that the air coming from the ducts is quite cool at times. The tstat is a carrier, and it must have been installed about in 2003 and I have no info on it. seems that there is no programming to it. I can find no model # on it. Is this as good as it gets or do I need to call for service?

Thanks,

Jim

That isn't enough info for anyone to help you. Your best bet is to call a service tech and let him tell you if the system is operating correctly or not.

I dunno,

It gave me enough info. If it's 20°F outside and I'm feeling cold air coming from the ducts, I'm going to be convinced that the emergency heat isn't coming on and I'm going to be calling a tech to get the hell out there and get me some heat, stat (Pun intended).

ONE TEAM - ONE FIGHT!!!

Mike

I dunno,