Listing Date Discrepancies

dtontarski

I've been encountering a lot of discrepancies between listing dates and actual dates of construction lately, and as I base my fees on the combination of year built and square footage, I feel I've been getting short changed.

For example I've just inspected 2-homes that were listed as built in the mid-1980's, and yet were clearly built in the mid-1880's.

Just because a home has received renovations, it does not seem that a realtor should be able to use the renovation dates versus the actual build date.

Does anyone know - are there any rules or standards on this?

I'm heading out to inspect another one of these shortly....MLS listing photos definitely reflect an older than "1987" build date.

Has something perhaps just changed on the rules on this? I've been inspecting for about 10 years now, and have never encountered this before....and now to get 3 in a row just seems strange.

Any thoughts?

I don't know why you'd factor age into it. I base my inspection fees entirely on square footage. That way I don't have to try and keep track of age of the house. It takes me the same amount of time to inspect a 100 year old 2000 square foot house as it does to inspect a brand new 2000 square foot house. Sure, on the old house I have to deal with stuff that's worn out and obsolete but on the new one I have to deal with the fussy wife who's worrying about every little nick and scratch. In the end they balance out.

Just charge a fair (for you) price based on square footage regardless of age or whether it's built on a slab versus crawl vs. basement etc., and you won't have to fuss with that anymore.

ONE TEAM - ONE FIGHT!!!

Mike

Around here I can pull up any property in the county records to see the year built, sq footage etc. They will sometime have it listed as"

"Actual Year Built: 1929"

"Effective Year Built: 1984"