push piers vs. helical

A close family member is about to have some foundation repair done. The problem is cracks and settling on a poured concrete foundation. The lot has significant slope to the rear. Significant enough that only the first floor is visible from the front but the rear is complete walkout basement.

There is an engineering report calling for a number of helical piers to be installed to support the footings on the rear and sides of the house. The contractor of choice has offered either helical or push piers for the same price and says he prefers push piers.

What are the pros and cons of both helical and push piers?

Can you think of a reason why the contractor would prefer push piers?

If you have any specific questions, ask and I'll try my best to answer them.

I have limited experience with push piers. I was at a seminar that they were featured for historic building stabilization. Unlike helical piers, they need to go as deep as needed to hit bedrock.

I have some field experience with a specific helical piering system, used for both vertical piers and horizontal anchors. In my experience, the system has been quite effective at stabilizing some serious foundation problems in tight spaces.