National Home Inspector Exam

chuckhopkins76

OK, I know that I am going to get alot of grief, but here goes.

I have been a licensed home builder for 13 years and with the housing market dead I decided to go ahead and get my inspectors license. I have always wanted to do this, but never had time. I completed my course studies with real good scores and will be taking my NHIE on October 15. I bought the cram exam and been studing hard. Any suggestions for test, E&O Insurance and General Liability. Thanks Alot !

OK, I know that I am going to get alot of grief, but here goes.

I have been a licensed home builder for 13 years and with the housing market dead I decided to go ahead and get my inspectors license. I have always wanted to do this, but never had time. I completed my course studies with real good scores and will be taking my NHIE on October 15. I bought the cram exam and been studing hard. Any suggestions for test, E&O Insurance and General Liability. Thanks Alot !

Track down Brian Goodman, buy him a steak dinner with all the trimmings, and see if he'll let you pick his brain.

Chuck,

I'll leave the insurance questions to others but as for the NHIE...

If you have, indeed, been studying hard I doubt you will have much difficulty passing. Having just recently taken the thing myself for our new state licenses, I have to say I was quite disappointed in how easy it was. I think the pass rate is 70%. I'm not sure exactly how they calculate that, but IMHO, that's horribly low and I wish the bar was set higher.

Keep up the studying, go through the archives & library here, but don't sweat the exam too much. There's ample time and no need to rush so just make sure you read the questions thoroughly and carefully. Watch out for negatives as in "what is not an approved etc, etc".

Hi Chuck,